One of the most popular resources available to you is NAEYC's blog which provides a fast, easy and convenient way to stay on top of the latest developments and best practices in the field.

NAEYC's Blog

Nursery Education Associations, as they were referred to in 1926, were created over seventy years ago as a result of dedicated nursery school professionals who gathered together in order to share and disseminate information and support for this emerging profession known as child care. In California, the Associations were divided into Northern and Southern California Associations for Nursery Education and developed separately until 1955 when both sections came together as CANE (California Association for Nursery Education) at the first annual meeting of the board of directors, presided by Elizabeth Woods, the first state president.

In 1966, CANE saw an increased scope of membership and adopted a new name that reflected the goals of the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), and became the California Association for the Education of Young Children (CAAEYC).

Following more than 50 years of growth and development, CAAEYC has become a vital force uniting educators of young children and advocating for political and professional leadership. CAAEYC sponsors an annual state conference bringing together providers of service across the state as well as leaders from 18 chapters statewide and dozens of partner organizations.

CAAEYC is a nonprofit corporation under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code governed by a statewide Board of Directors, which derives its authority from the CAAEYC Bylaws. The State of California Franchise Tax Board grants CAAEYC tax-exempt status under Section 237010d of the Revenue and Taxation Code.


The California Association for the Education of Young Children (CAAEYC), founded in 1953, has more than 3,500 members in 18 chapters statewide. CAAEYC is the state affiliate for California to the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) in Washington, D.C.


  • Sponsors the Annual State Conference (rotating north and south)
  • Sponsors the California Forum for Professional Development
  • Publisher of the CAAEYC Newsletter - eConnections
  • Provider of information on parenting, advocacy, research, credentialing, child care, salary and status, regulations, professional development and children’s education
  • Job Board

Past Presidents

1955-1957 -- Elizabeth Woods
1957-1959 -- Jean DeMattos

1959-1961 -- Helen Frederick
1961-1963 -- Bettie Boyd
1963-1965 -- Alma Green
1965-1967 -- Sarah Foot
1967-1969 -- Marian Anderson
1969-1970 -- Agatha Cohee
1970-1971 -- Lou Grant
1971-1973 -- Vera Taylor
1973-1975 -- Mildred Sabath

1975-1977 -- Mary Warner
1977-1979 -- Esther Weir

1979-1981 -- Joanne Hendrick
1981-1983 -- Coral Edquist
1983-1985 -- Marcia Fochler
1985-1987 -- Sylvia White
1987-1989 -- Robin Valles
1989-1991 -- Elsie Gee
1991-1993 -- Lee McKay
1993-1995 -- Cecelia Alvarado Kuster
1995-1997 -- Judy Brummel

1997-1999 -- Betsy Hiteshew
1999-2001 -- Sharon Hawley
2001-2003 -- Michelle Soltero
2003-2005 -- Ellen Junn
2005-2007 -- Eve-Marie Arce
2007-2009 -- Ginger Swigart
2009-2011 -- Marilyn McGrath
2011-2013 -- Kelly Lake
2015-2017 -- Cary Larson-McKay
2017-2019 -- Jacqueline Sell
2019-2021 -- Heidi Thumlert